斯塔维洛斯•尼阿科斯基金会:希腊的积极形象

SNFlogo

前几个周也许是希腊现代史上最为困难的时期,政府的国际形象俱损,退欧差点成为可能。目前至关重要的是关注希腊的积极形象,向世人讲述一些真实成功的事件,虽然这些事件可能并不会一直博得媒体的眼球。在这方面,斯塔维洛斯•尼阿科斯基金会的举动意义非凡。

斯塔维洛斯•尼阿科斯基金会为目前的希腊危机提供了切实的解决方法。他们向非盈利组织提供紧急捐款来解决人民的基本生活需求,保障社会福利和保健。这并非基金会在此次动荡时期的一次偶尔为之的善举,而是一贯如此。说到这儿,基金会在加强希腊和亚洲的联系方面做出的推动之举也不得不提。

靠近亚洲

希腊和亚洲的关系方面有许多积极的方面值得称道,尤其在发生人道主义危机等特殊情况下显得尤为重要。在尼泊尔大地震发生短短几天后基金会就马上就作出了反应,宣布捐给Oxfam GB 以及国际红十字会50万美元,协助国际救援工作,给尼泊尔人民提供关键的帮助。这一切他们并未向媒体大肆宣扬过。项目策略计划副主任帕诺斯•帕普利亚斯对本站说 “ 基金会的一举一动始终遵循我们的理念,秉承我们一贯的作风。”例如,2008年中国发生大地震的时候,基金会也提供了及时的协助。

Source: Yiorgis Yerolymbos / Stavros Niarchos Foundation Cultural Center

Source: Yiorgis Yerolymbos / Stavros Niarchos Foundation Cultural Center

除此之外,其他国际援助的相关信息在其官网上也一目了然。中国是接受了其资助组织文化活动和大型会议的亚洲国家之一。例如,2008年是中国希腊文化年,基金会资助了9月在北京举行的名为“古希腊戏剧对歌剧的影响及京剧之美”的展览,并获得了巨大成功。仅38天就吸引了来自中国、希腊和其他国家的22万人前来观看。

基金会在海外积极宣传希腊研究也值得特别关注。加拿大西蒙弗雷泽大学在获得了基金会的慷慨捐赠之后成立了希腊研究中心。随后2003年基金会开设了独具特色的在线希腊语课程,教学效果明显。这个网络平台给了许多身在中国的学生学习希腊语的机会。教育项目协调官Eva Polyzogopoulou 女士向本站解释说,“ 新的研究中心的主要任务是扩大和中国学术机构的联系。我们也支持中国的希腊研究的发展,为学生和教师的交流提供便利。”

还需提及的是西蒙弗雷泽大学希腊研究中心日益发展壮大,这说明基金会对其进行的捐助是成功的。虽然资金援助已于2011年结束,但是研究中心现在已能自给自足。这完全符合基金会的中心理念,即受益者在接受捐助的同时采取系统的行动并开展长期的计划。

话说回来,加拿大西蒙弗雷泽大学取得了长足发展,成功吸引了来自世界各地的学生,也促使基金会做出追加捐助的决定。靠着这笔捐助,中心得以辟出一个研究希腊、地中海流域及中东地区移民政策的副教授职位,加强了其学术实力。

展望未来

SNFimpact在布鲁塞尔举行的欧元区会议上艰难地达成了协议,开始协商为期三年的救助希腊方案,此时斯塔维洛斯.尼阿科斯基金会对国家的作用尤显重要。希望人们能够多关注对基金会在艺术、文化、教育、健康、运动以及社会福利等领域。所有满足必要条件的申请都会被纳入考虑范围。

点击此处获取更多信息。

Stavros Niarchos Foundation: The positive aspect of Greece

SNFlogoThe last few weeks have probably been the most difficult ones in modern Greek history. The risk of a Grexit was particularly high while the international image of the Greek government was seriously damaged. It is now more pressing than ever to focus on the positive dimension of Greece and outline real success stories which do not always attract media attention. In that regard, the activity and work of the Stavros Niarchos Foundation are of high significance.

The Stavros Niarchos Foundation offers important, tangible solutions to the ongoing Greek crisis. It is doing so, for instance, by offering emergency grants to nonprofit organizations to cover basic needs of the population and strengthen social welfare and health. The role of the Foundation is not only relevant to the current dramatic developments but also to other systematic actions both domestically and internationally. In this context, it is worth emphasizing the way in which it forges relations between Greece and Asia.

Approaching Asia

A lot could be written on the positive dimension of Greece’s relations with Asia. This becomes even more important under special circumstances such as a humanitarian crisis. With this framework and without seeking publicity the Stavros Niarchos Foundation reacted almost immediately a few days after the devastating earthquake in Nepal. Specifically, it announced a total grant of $500,000 to Oxfam GB, and the International Federation of Red Cross, to assist international relief efforts aiming to provide critical support to the people of Nepal. As Assistant Director of Programs & Strategic Initiatives Mr. Panos Papoulias says on chinaandgreece.com, ‘This initiative of the Foundation is consistent with the philosophy and similar actions already undertaken in the past’. In 2008, for example, a critical assistance was given to China after a catastrophic earthquake hit the country.

Source: Yiorgis Yerolymbos / SNF Cultural Center

Source: Yiorgis Yerolymbos / SNF Cultural Center

In parallel, a single glance on the website of Stavros Niarchos Foundation provides information on grants given internationally. China belongs to Asian countries which have benefited by receiving support for the organisation of cultural events and conferences. In 2008, for example, the Foundation was the Major Sponsor of the exhibition ‘The Influence of Ancient Drama in Opera and the Beijing Opera’ which took place in the Chinese capital in September 2008 in the context of the Cultural Year of Greece in China. The exhibition was highly successful. It attracted over 220.000 Chinese, Greek and international visitors in just 38 days.

Moreover, the interest of the Stavros Niarchos Foundation to actively promote Hellenic Studies abroad deserves particular attention. Following its generous donation, the Center for Hellenic Studies at Simon Fraser University in Canada was – inter alia – established. Subsequently, a unique and effective online course for the teaching of Greek language was introduced in 2003.  This e-platform gives the opportunity to many Chinese students, who are based in China, to start learning Greek. As Program Coordinator in Education Ms. Eva Polyzogopoulou explains on chinaandgreece.com, ‘The new Center has concentrated on expanding relations with Chinese academic institutions. It has also supported the development of Greek Studies in China and has facilitated exchanges of students and teachers.’

It is also important to mention that the success of the Stavros Niarchos Foundation’s donation to Simon Fraser University is confirmed by the sustainability of the Center for Hellenic Studies. Although the financial support expired in 2011, the Centre can now cover its economic needs on its own. The core of the Stavros Niarchos Foundation philosophy is that donations should go hand in hand with systematic action and long-term planning by the beneficiaries. This said, the continuous success of the Centre for Hellenic Studies at Simon Fraser University in attracting students from all over the world has facilitated the decision of the Stavros Niarchos Foundation to make a new donation. The new donation has further strengthened the Center by creating a new position of an Assistant Professor on migration studies in Greece, the Mediterranean Basin and the Middle East region.

Looking towards the future

SNFimpactThe Foundations’ activities predate the crisis and its activities will continue after Greece leaves the crisis behind it. As an international Foundation, the Stavros Niarchos Foundation continues to receive grant requests and it is active internationally along the programmatic areas of: Arts and Culture, Education, Health and Sports and Social Welfare. All requests are carefully evaluated assuming that they fulfill all the relevant criteria.

More information is available here.